College Essay Very Rough Draft

Hello, my potential future alma mater! My name is Sam, as you probably saw a little father back in this form, and I desperately want to go to your school. I’m not exactly sure why you would want me specifically, but I will try to highlight, exaggerate, they’re both synonyms anyway, my few qualities that can appear to someone with a more, hmm, maybe critical eye, that could push me up a few notches for acceptance.

One quality that might appear to you through this essay is that I am not cocky or arrogant. But moving from that, I love to read. As disjointed as my stream of consciousness is, it won’t get any worse. I love the feeling of turning a page, melting into a never-ending story that stands frozen and imperfect but impossibly real for as long as it has memories. The written words almost flow around me, and I always can see, hear, and feel what I read. As I plan to be an English major, some level of book-love is more or less required. It’s not hard to imagine, reading this, to imagine what I look like, and what I do on a rainy day when my parents and siblings are gone, and my three dogs are curled around me on the couch with a book in easy reach. I wouldn’t want to wake them up.

My number 2 quality on my list is patience. My volcano died a long time ago. The supernova star inside some people is more like a black hole in mine. I accept some things, but I hope you can count that I won’t give up on my college. I will, in every way I can, and although those ways might not always be many, try my hardest, do my best, and be my most helpful when I go to your school, and hopefully forever after that. Moving a little ways away from just academia, I’ve never gotten mad, not at my friends, not ever. Not even when one of them had the brilliant idea to roll me down a hill when I was asleep. In a tent.

My third best, and probably final quality, although this is very similar to number two, is devotion. I don’t have much to offer, but once I’m stuck to you, oh, you’re going to have a bad time trying to remove me from your life. I once thought of becoming a librarian, in sixth grade. Six years later, I still want to be one. If I goto your school, I will always remember, treasure, and love where I’ve been, no matter what has happened there.

 To say affectionately, I’m almost nothing, without these few qualities. I know I’m already hardly much with them. I don’t really know what much I can add. I’m a soprano, in choir. Yes, I know it’s a little crazy, but I can get up to that scary high A-B place without going all Justin Timberlake. I like to write, bike, and swim, although I’m not particularly fantastic at any of those. All I can say is that I will try and be my best at whatever I do at your school. I hope you have a good time reading this!

Leave a comment